Looking for a review manager for Real

Previous Topic Next Topic
 
classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
16 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list
Hi,
GSOC finished and we are almost-ready for proposing to review a new
library, Real.
We are looking for a volunteer to be a review manager for it.
Best regards,
Damian

_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list
On Wed, Sep 2, 2020 at 6:40 AM Damian Vicino via Boost
<[hidden email]> wrote:
> GSOC finished and we are almost-ready for proposing to review a new
> library, Real. We are looking for a volunteer to be a review manager for it.

Can you please provide a link to the repository?

Thanks

_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list
<https://github.com/BoostGSoC20/Real>

> On Wed, Sep 2, 2020 at 6:40 AM Damian Vicino via Boost
> <[hidden email]> wrote:
> > GSOC finished and we are almost-ready for proposing to review a new
> > library, Real. We are looking for a volunteer to be a review manager for
> it.
>
> Can you please provide a link to the repository?
>
> Thanks
>

https://github.com/BoostGSoC20/Real
Thanks

_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list
In reply to this post by Boost - Dev mailing list
I'd be happy to volunteer for the role of Review Manager if there is no-one
more suitable.

*Domain Experience:*

7 Years working in investment banks writing pricers and risk systems,
mainly for FX and Options.
Minimising errors resulting from a sequence of floating point numerical
operations was an important feature of that work, so I have some exposure
to the domain.

*Software Experience:*

I have been writing software commercially in Assembler, C and C++ since I
was 16 years old. So that would be 35 years.

*Boost Review Manager Experience:*

None. I would be happy with any advice that can be offered.

*Qualifications within Boost:*

I maintain the Boost.Beast library




On Wed, 2 Sep 2020 at 15:40, Damian Vicino via Boost <[hidden email]>
wrote:

> Hi,
> GSOC finished and we are almost-ready for proposing to review a new
> library, Real.
> We are looking for a volunteer to be a review manager for it.
> Best regards,
> Damian
>
> _______________________________________________
> Unsubscribe & other changes:
> http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
>


--
Richard Hodges
[hidden email]
office: +442032898513
home: +376841522
mobile: +376380212

_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list
In reply to this post by Boost - Dev mailing list
On Wed, 2 Sep 2020 at 15:41, Damian Vicino via Boost
<[hidden email]> wrote:
>
> Hi,
> GSOC finished and we are almost-ready for proposing to review a new
> library, Real.
> We are looking for a volunteer to be a review manager for it.

Damian,

If you are not an author of the library, but mentor only,
you can manage the review.

Best regards,
--
Mateusz Loskot, http://mateusz.loskot.net

_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list
In reply to this post by Boost - Dev mailing list
On Wed, 2 Sep 2020 at 19:07, Richard Hodges via Boost
<[hidden email]> wrote:
>
> I'd be happy to volunteer for the role of Review Manager if there is no-one
> more suitable.

Richard,

Thank you for volunteering.

Damian,

If you agree with Richard's offer, then please
agree with Richard on possible dates of 10 day long period,
and send the request to John Phillips and myself
(e-mails on https://www.boost.org/community/reviews.html#Wizard)

Best regards,
--
Mateusz Loskot, http://mateusz.loskot.net

_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list
In reply to this post by Boost - Dev mailing list
El mié., 2 sept. 2020 a las 14:36, Mateusz Loskot via Boost (<
[hidden email]>) escribió:

> On Wed, 2 Sep 2020 at 15:41, Damian Vicino via Boost
> <[hidden email]> wrote:
> >
> > Hi,
> > GSOC finished and we are almost-ready for proposing to review a new
> > library, Real.
> > We are looking for a volunteer to be a review manager for it.
>
> Damian,
>
> If you are not an author of the library, but mentor only,
> you can manage the review.
>
> Best regards,
> --
> Mateusz Loskot, http://mateusz.loskot.net


Thanks, but I think I'm too close to it even though I didn't write the code
itself. I will prefer someone else to take the review management for this
one.

_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list
In reply to this post by Boost - Dev mailing list
On wo, 02. sep 09:40, Damian Vicino via Boost wrote:
> Hi,
> GSOC finished and we are almost-ready for proposing to review a new
> library, Real.

Glanced over the library, and was wondering how much overlap there is
with:

 - Boost Interval Arithmetic Library
   (https://www.boost.org/doc/libs/1_74_0/libs/numeric/interval/doc/interval.htm) which AFAIK is a part of Boost Numeric
 - Boost Interval Container Library

If there are major differences in objectives/scope/approach it would be very
helpful to existing Boost users if the documentation calls those out
explicitly.

Regards
Seth

_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list
On 9/4/20 12:05 PM, sehe via Boost wrote:

> On wo, 02. sep 09:40, Damian Vicino via Boost wrote:
>> Hi,
>> GSOC finished and we are almost-ready for proposing to review a new
>> library, Real.
>
> Glanced over the library, and was wondering how much overlap there is
> with:
>
>   - Boost Interval Arithmetic Library
>     (https://www.boost.org/doc/libs/1_74_0/libs/numeric/interval/doc/interval.htm) which AFAIK is a part of Boost Numeric
>   - Boost Interval Container Library
>
Not to mention safe numerics library

> If there are major differences in objectives/scope/approach it would be very
> helpful to existing Boost users if the documentation calls those out
> explicitly.
>
> Regards
> Seth
>
> _______________________________________________
> Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
>



_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list
El vie., 4 sept. 2020 a las 17:33, Robert Ramey via Boost (<
[hidden email]>) escribió:

> On 9/4/20 12:05 PM, sehe via Boost wrote:
> > On wo, 02. sep 09:40, Damian Vicino via Boost wrote:
> >> Hi,
> >> GSOC finished and we are almost-ready for proposing to review a new
> >> library, Real.
> >
> > Glanced over the library, and was wondering how much overlap there is
> > with:
> >
> >   - Boost Interval Arithmetic Library
> >     (
> https://www.boost.org/doc/libs/1_74_0/libs/numeric/interval/doc/interval.htm)
> which AFAIK is a part of Boost Numeric
> >   - Boost Interval Container Library
> >
> Not to mention safe numerics library
>
> > If there are major differences in objectives/scope/approach it would be
> very
> > helpful to existing Boost users if the documentation calls those out
> > explicitly.
> >
> > Regards
> > Seth
> >
>
>
There is actually not much overlap with other libraries, it may in the
implementation details be some overlap with boost::interval arithmetic, but
not in the goals or features exposed.

The goal in Real is to evaluate expressions that the required precision to
evaluate them accurately is unknown in advance and explores how to achieve
perfect accuracy for the evaluation, or fails noisily.
The general idea of how to evaluate is defining numbers as functions that
produce intervals around them and when iterated produce more constrained
intervals around the same number, all numbers in the expression are
adjusted until the intervals are small enough to determine an evaluation
result. For example, let say we have the (3e < 2pi) expression. Lets
evaluate with "1 digit". e is [2, 3], pi is [3, 4], then 3e < 2pi is [6, 9]
< [6, 8], since the intervals overlap there is no way to know which side of
the expression is the lower one. We iterate and use e= [2.7, 2.8] and pi
[3.1, 3.2] then the expression is now [8.1, 8.4] < [6.2, 6.4] Then there is
no overlap and no need to continue iterating, the answer is False.

We are going to update the doc to make it clear that there is no relation
to the other libraries.

_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list


> On Sep 5, 2020, at 03:02, Damian Vicino via Boost <[hidden email]> wrote:
>>
> There is actually not much overlap with other libraries, it may in the
> implementation details be some overlap with boost::interval arithmetic, but
> not in the goals or features exposed.
>
> The goal in Real is to evaluate expressions that the required precision to
> evaluate them accurately is unknown in advance and explores how to achieve
> perfect accuracy for the evaluation, or fails noisily.

I am planning to do a full review, and certainly will try to see whether it can evaluate some hard numerical expressions.
Unfortunately, it is clear already that the documentation is severely lacking.
My suggestion right now is to delay the start of the review until we have proper documentation.

Range arithmetic is useful mainly for two purposes:
1) numeric analysis of algorithms - to determine the accuracy of the final result given a finite accuracy of the input quantities.
This sounds close enough to what you describe as your goal, so saying that your library does something different is strange.

2) in pure math - to derive strict bounds on the value of some trig and special functions.
Your library cannot (yet?), but other range libraries can do it, notably the Arb library http://arblib.org.

On 9/4/20 12:05 PM, sehe via Boost wrote:
> Glanced over the library, and was wondering how much overlap there is
> with:
>  - Boost Interval Arithmetic Library
>    (https://www.boost.org/doc/libs/1_74_0/libs/numeric/interval/doc/interval.htm <https://www.boost.org/doc/libs/1_74_0/libs/numeric/interval/doc/interval.htm>) which AFAIK is a part of Boost Numeric
>  - Boost Interval Container Library

The Interval Container Library has no relation with this business at all, it is about treating time slots for accounting software.
Safe Numerics also has nothing to do with this, so any comparisons should be with Boost.Interval and Arb (which is in C).

Best Regards,
Kostas Savvidis

=========================================
Institute of Nuclear and Particle Physics
NCSR Demokritos
http://inspirehep.net/author/profile/K.G.Savvidy.1
https://github.com/kotika/random
https://mixmax.hepforge.org



_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list


> -----Original Message-----
> From: Boost <[hidden email]> On Behalf Of Kostas Savvidis via Boost
> Sent: 5 September 2020 17:04
> To: [hidden email]
> Cc: Kostas Savvidis <[hidden email]>; Robert Ramey <[hidden email]>
> Subject: Re: [boost] Looking for a review manager for Real
>
> > On Sep 5, 2020, at 03:02, Damian Vicino via Boost <[hidden email]> wrote:
> >>
> > There is actually not much overlap with other libraries, it may in the
> > implementation details be some overlap with boost::interval
> > arithmetic, but not in the goals or features exposed.
> >
> > The goal in Real is to evaluate expressions that the required
> > precision to evaluate them accurately is unknown in advance and
> > explores how to achieve perfect accuracy for the evaluation, or fails noisily.
<snip>

> so any comparisons should be with Boost.Interval
> and Arb (which is in C).

And is GPL licenced, not Boost :-(

Paul



_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list
El sáb., 5 sept. 2020 a las 12:45, Paul A Bristow via Boost (<
[hidden email]>) escribió:

>
>
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: Boost <[hidden email]> On Behalf Of Kostas
> Savvidis via Boost
> > Sent: 5 September 2020 17:04
> > To: [hidden email]
> > Cc: Kostas Savvidis <[hidden email]>; Robert Ramey <[hidden email]>
> > Subject: Re: [boost] Looking for a review manager for Real
> >
> > > On Sep 5, 2020, at 03:02, Damian Vicino via Boost <
> [hidden email]> wrote:
> > >>
> > > There is actually not much overlap with other libraries, it may in the
> > > implementation details be some overlap with boost::interval
> > > arithmetic, but not in the goals or features exposed.
> > >
> > > The goal in Real is to evaluate expressions that the required
> > > precision to evaluate them accurately is unknown in advance and
> > > explores how to achieve perfect accuracy for the evaluation, or fails
> noisily.
> <snip>
>
> > so any comparisons should be with Boost.Interval
> > and Arb (which is in C).
>
> And is GPL licenced, not Boost :-(
>
> Paul
>
>
> Thanks for the comments.
I didn't have experience with the ARB library, but it seems very related. I
think it will be super useful to use for comparing benchmarks and validate
testing (same expression in both should have the same result kind of
testing).
I think the next step on our side would be to dig into ARB, automatize and
compare them, and improve documentation. Sounds that we have work on that
area for a while, I will post about review again after we have some
advances there. BTW, great reference to the ARB, the libraries we knew
about the topic are long dead, this one seems pretty much alive and
it's very encouraging to see someone else working in the same area.
About documentation. I think it would be really useful for us to have
someone not involved with the project to point us what are the major areas
of improvement we can target.
Thanks!
Damian

_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list
On Tue, Sep 8, 2020 at 7:28 PM Damian Vicino via Boost
<[hidden email]> wrote:
> ...

I am greatly looking forward to seeing this library added to Boost,
because then I can say...



...Boost just got Real!!!

_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list
In reply to this post by Boost - Dev mailing list

> On 5. Sep 2020, at 18:03, Kostas Savvidis via Boost <[hidden email]> wrote:
>
>> On Sep 5, 2020, at 03:02, Damian Vicino via Boost <[hidden email]> wrote:
>>>
>> There is actually not much overlap with other libraries, it may in the
>> implementation details be some overlap with boost::interval arithmetic, but
>> not in the goals or features exposed.
>>
>> The goal in Real is to evaluate expressions that the required precision to
>> evaluate them accurately is unknown in advance and explores how to achieve
>> perfect accuracy for the evaluation, or fails noisily.
>
> I am planning to do a full review, and certainly will try to see whether it can evaluate some hard numerical expressions.
> Unfortunately, it is clear already that the documentation is severely lacking.
> My suggestion right now is to delay the start of the review until we have proper documentation.

I second that. I am interested in reviewing this, but the docs and the medium article didn't explain very well what kind of problem this library solves. A simple educational example early on in the introduction would be helpful.

The scope/target audience is not clear (as Robert already mentioned). Boost.Real does not seem to target high-performance computing, because the approach of using a variable number of intervals to represent floating point numbers does not appear to be particularly cache and/or SIMD friendly.

Furthermore, the existing algorithms in high-performance computing are designed to deal with the limitations of float/double explicitly, by doing computations in a way that the FP error is kept under control. They do a good job.

If high-performance is not the target anyway but accuracy is, then my first instinct would be to use a multi-precision type rather than Boost.Real.

Best regards,
Hans


_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Looking for a review manager for Real

Boost - Dev mailing list
In reply to this post by Boost - Dev mailing list
On Wed, 9 Sep 2020 at 13:16, Vinnie Falco via Boost <[hidden email]>
wrote:

> On Tue, Sep 8, 2020 at 7:28 PM Damian Vicino via Boost
>
> <[hidden email]> wrote:
>
> > ...
>
>
>
> I am greatly looking forward to seeing this library added to Boost,
>
> because then I can say...
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
> ...Boost just got Real!!!


Oh God, make it stop.


>
>
>
> _______________________________________________
>
> Unsubscribe & other changes:
> http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
>
> --
Richard Hodges
[hidden email]
office: +442032898513
home: +376841522
mobile: +376380212

_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost